Atlanta Stun Gun Defense Lawyers
20+ Years of Experience Representing the People of Georgia
Are tasers legal in Georgia?
A stun gun, also known as a taser, is an electrical device that emits an electrical charge of 20,000 volts, which is strong enough to disable a person. Georgia’s criminal statutes regulate some uses of stun guns. Failure to use a stun gun in compliance with the law can result in criminal penalties.
If you have been charged with a stun gun crime, it is vital to contact an experienced Atlanta weapon lawyer who can defend your rights. The attorneys at Abt Law Firm, LLC have over 24 years of experience helping the people who have been accused of weapon crime in Atlanta. We have successfully handled over 2,500 cases and over 100 jury trials.
Contact our firm today for a free consultation at (678) 582-2272. No criminal record, no jail time!
Stun Gun Laws in Georgia
In the state of Georgia, it is legal for most people to buy and carry tasers or stun guns without a license. It is considered a felony offense, however, if you are found in possession of a taser or stun gun with a previous felony conviction on your record.
Legally, stun guns are divided into two types:
- One type requires you to make direct contact with your target before the gun discharges.
- The other type, used by police, fires a projectile (typically a wire) into the target so it can be used at a distance.
The “contact” type of stun gun is not considered a firearm in Georgia and can generally be carried without a permit. The “projectile” type stun gun is considered a firearm and is regulated by the same laws that govern the use of other types of weapons.
A firearm permit is not needed for a person to carry a stun gun in Georgia. A firearms permit is required, however, to carry a projectile stun gun. Permits will not be issued to minors under the age of 21, or to people convicted of felonies and certain other crimes.
You need special approval to obtain a permit if you have been admitted as an inpatient to a mental hospital or alcohol/drug treatment center within the past 5 years. No license is required to simply store a stun gun of any type in your home, car or other property. Even with a permit, you will not be able to carry a projectile stun gun into certain public places where the owner forbids firearms.
Stun Gun Penalties in Georgia
Carrying a projectile stun gun without a permit is a criminal offense in Georgia, and a convicted felon caught carrying one can face up to 5 years in prison. With a permit, you may conceal your stun gun under most circumstances. A policeman is not authorized to stop you and demand that you produce your permit unless he is entitled to stop you for some other reason.
With or without a permit, criminal penalties can be significantly enhanced if you use a stun gun to commit a crime. Using a stun gun to commit an assault, for example, is considered felony aggravated assault in Georgia, and can land you in prison for up to 20 years. It is also a felony to use a stun gun while breaking into someone’s home or car. It is even a felony to carry a stun gun while in possession of a controlled substance such as marijuana.
Contact Experienced Stun Gun Crimes Defense Attorneys Today: (678) 582-2272!
You might face a long prison sentence, heavy fines and a debilitating criminal record if you are convicted of violating Georgia stun gun laws. If are arrested anywhere In Georgia and want your charges dropped, call the stun gun and weapon defense attorneys at Abt Law Firm, LLC. today!
We have over 24 years of experience helping people accused of stun gun crimes in Atlanta and surrounding areas. We have successfully handled over 2,500 cases and over 100 jury trials. We offer a free initial consultation, we are available to you 24/7, and we will even visit you in jail if necessary.
Contact our Atlanta stun gun crimes defense lawyers today for a free case review at (678) 582-2272!