Atlanta Underage DUI Attorney
Two Decades of DUI Defense Experience in Atlanta!
The legal drinking age in Georgia is 21, which means that there are many young people who can drive a vehicle, but not allowed to drink. If a person who is underage of 21 is caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .02 percent or more, the will be charged with a DUI.
Instances where underage drinking is permitted in Georgia include the following:
- With the permission of a parent or guardian on property that does not sell alcohol
- Religious purposes
- Medical purposes
When someone who is under the age of 21 drinks alcohol and gets into an accident, the penalties are harsh because these individuals cause a larger percentage of accidents than other age groups. For this reason, there is a lower blood alcohol content (BAC) that will lead to a citation for driving under the influence. In this case, it is .02 percent, while the BAC that triggers a DUI arrest for those over the age of 21 years is .08 percent.
Penalties for underage DUI include:
- A person who has a BAC of greater than .02 percent and less than .08 percent may be penalized with the suspension of their driver’s license for up to six months and a sentence of community service.
- A person who has a BAC of .08 percent or higher may face jail time of up to 24 hours, a driver’s license suspension up to one, and community service, in addition to community service and a fine.
- A second offense may cause imprisonment of three days (this is only if there are no injuries from the DUI), as well as a fine of up to $1,000. Also, this person may lose his license for up to three years and face a community service sentence.
- Any further convictions will result in more serious charges.
Refusing a DUI Test
A person who is under the age of 21 years and driving under the influence also may face serious penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test at the time of the DUI stop. In Georgia, it is necessary to submit to the chemical testing at the time of a suspected DUI arrest, or there are serious penalties that impact the individual being charged with DUI immediately.
The Abt Law Firm, LLC. Aggressively Advocates on Behalf of its Clients
Driving under the influence (DUI) arrest always carries with it serious consequences, but when the driver is under the age of 21 years it is especially important to fight the charges to protect the future opportunities of the driver. Our Atlanta DUI defense attorney knows that a criminal record can harm a young person’s future. We will work with you to do everything possible to prevent someone who made a mistake from facing a lifetime of consequences.Protect you our your child’s future by calling us at (678) 582-2272. We offer free consultations at our office, over the telephone, or at jail.